Letting go and moving on

Four years of hard work pays off

My son Lucas, 21, has just graduated from Acadia University in Wolfville, Nova Scotia. Graduation is a great time to look back at where you’ve been, to savour and treasure the best moments, and to look forward with optimism, confidence and excitement to the days and months and years that lie ahead.
In my role at Humber College I attend a convocation every spring and feel enormous satisfaction watching students I have worked with walk across the stage to receive their certificate or diploma. But I don’t think anything could have prepared me for the enormous sense of pride I felt when the student accepting the degree was my own child. I know how hard he worked, how much he loved Acadia and the mixed emotions he felt as he prepared to leave his home for the last four years and step out into the world. I know that whatever comes his way — success, joy, disappointment and even failure — he will handle it all with dignity, courage and his never ending sense of humour.

One thought on “Letting go and moving on

  1. First off, I just want to say: Congratulations to both you and Lucas! Graduation is an important time in everyone’s life and I’m sure Lucas was proud to have you there, sharing his joy.

    I’m sure you are equally proud of Lucas. It sounds like he enjoyed his time in Nova Scotia and now has a wide-range of skills that he can use in his future career.

    Please send the congrats to Lucas and wish him luck for me. He sounds like a great guy.

    take care,
    Andrew

Leave a Reply

