A musical evening

Wales is a land of poetry, story telling and song. This evening I attended a fantastic concert in St. John’s Methodist Church, Llandudno, featuring Hogia’r DDwylan, a Welsh male voice choir. What a treat it was. My only suggestion would be to include a printed program, although one of the choir members did a wonderful job of introducing the songs and performers.

Besides the choir, the evening’s entertainers consisted of three young girls, whose names, unfortunately, I don’t have. One was an 11-year-old harpist, her eight-year-old sister and another girl. The girls performed accompanied by their mothers on piano, and the sisters’ dad sings in the choir. You can imagine the beautiful music that fills that home on a Sunday afternoon!

As I walked down Mostyn Street on my way to the concert, I wondered in this dress-down age what the choir might wear and they certainly did not disappoint – all very handsome in black tie. The audience, and I would guess there wasn’t anyone under 55, really enjoyed the performance. The choir sang everything from traditional Welsh ballads, in Welsh, to an interesting medley of popular American tunes: Can You Feel the Love Tonight?, Moon River and You Raise Me Up under the musical direction of Ilid Anne Jones.

(An aside. Funny how things pop out of nowhere and come together. I hadn’t thought about Breakfast at Tiffany’s in ages, then this week heard about a book called Fifth Avenue, 5 a.m. and now, just a day or so later, this choir sang an astonishingly beautiful version of Moon River. Coincidence? )

The choir’s harmonies are full-bodied and the voices so controlled. If you ever get the chance to hear a Welsh male voice choir, go.

In the meantime, you can learn more about the choir here, in their own words and voices.

Instead of an encore, the concert concluded in the most magical way. As the event was held in a church, the audience and choir sang a rousing old hymn together. It was brilliant!

So tomorrow Eirlys and I are off to Bodnant Garden. There’s such a lot of world to see.

3 thoughts on “A musical evening

  1. sounds like a wonderful evening, will check out the link you posted – thanks !

    I Love Moon River – was always one of my faves, Daddy had the Andy Williams record with that song on it so I grew up with it.

    Sundays after church, the record player was always on until after Dinner if we were at home. Lots of Andy Williams, Frank Sinatra, Bing Crosby, etc, still enjoy listening to those songs.

    Enjoy the gardens tomorrow

    TTFN

    mar

  2. What a wonderful diary of your visit to Wales, I’m so pleased to read your kind compliments on Hogia’r Ddwylan Choir. I am their publicty officer and the Musical Director’s husband!!!!

    Regards

    Dewi Jones

  3. I enjoyed the concert enormously and so glad I brought home a CD so I can continue to enjoy it. As for the musical director, Mrs. Jones, my comment would be: How can someone be so gorgeous AND talented?! But I doubt you need reminding of that!

Leave a Reply

