Reviews and Praise

A Brush with Death

“A wonderfully talented author presents a soothing picture of Wales in this cozy. Fans of Louise Penny will love this book. There’s plenty of intrigue to keep you turning the pages into the night. The mystery is sharp and tangled and the characters sharp and interesting.”
– RT Reviews

“Duncan’s second is every bit as delightful as her debut (The Cold Light of Mourning-2009)—a smoothly written classic English mystery right up there with the best.”
– Kirkus Reviews

“Duncan writes so well about the lives of people in a small village in Wales that the reader becomes immersed in their daily trials and tribulations. The follow-up to the award-winning The Cold Light of Mourning is sure to appeal to fans of M.C. Beaton and Agatha Christie.”
– Library Journal Review

The Cold Light of Mourning

“Lyrical and lovely, The Cold Light of Mourning launches an enchanting series that mystery readers will cherish. A warm welcome to Elizabeth J. Duncan, who writes with grace and charm. Sheer delight.”
—Carolyn Hart, author of Ghost at Work

— Duncan’s debut is a gentle delight sure to please fans of the classic English mystery.
Kirkus Reviews, February, 2009.

A runaway bride is the linchpin of Canadian writer Duncan’s delightful debut, which has won the Minotaur/Malice Domestic Best First Traditional Mystery Novel Competition … The scenic Welsh backdrop, village personalities and a budding romance … add color and interest.
Publishers Weekly, May, 2009

Duncan, the first Canadian winner of the Minotaur/Malice Domestic Best First Traditional Mystery Novel competition, lulls readers with her soothing prose and depiction of small-town life in Wales and then startles them with a shocker of a denouement. Readers who enjoy Louise Penny, another Canadian mystery author of note, and Charlaine Harris’s Aurora Teagarden mysteries will love this one.
Library Journal Reviews, April, 2009

… story telling with polished exposition, pacing and edgy dialogue. Characters sparkle, and the dark side that lurks just at the edge of most innocent scenes is drawn with skill and depth.

The Cold Light of Mourning is a must read for 2009 with hope that another is soon to follow.
Don Graves, mystery book columnist, The Hamilton Spectator

The Cold Light of Mourning is a first novel and an excellent start for a new series with an endearing main character and a cast of delightful secondary characters.

…There is a touch of romance in this story that I hope to see expanded in a later book! I was utterly delighted with this story and can’t wait for a sequel.

Armchair Interviews says: This is a debut novel worth taking a risk on, order a copy today, you will not be disappointed.
Reviewed by Stephanie Boyd, Armchairinterviews.com

If you’re a fan of the kind of gentle mysteries that Alexander McCall Smith writes, this would be your cup of tea.

Obsessions of a Pop Culture Nerd

Duncan has a fine eye for detail, plays fair with the clues and creates engaging characters.
Margaret Cannon, Globe and Mail

. . . An admirable and appealing first effort, “The Cold Light of Mourning” combines a worthy plot, a congenial heroine and a sure sense of place — Duncan’s depiction of village life is spot on — to produce a story that nears perfection. Readers will want to see more of Penny — and more of Duncan’s pleasing prose.
Jay Strafford, Richmond-Times Dispatch